Comfort Food

When I was growing up, cooking wasn’t something that I did. My only adventures in the gourmet world were toasted bagels and peanut butter and macaroni and cheese out of the box. My mom made good food for us, but didn’t enjoy cooking herself and so I only learned the basics of what a kitchen could do. (It’s funny that I now credit her for my love of cooking!). As I got older and lived in a dorm, my culinary artwork was limited to pushing a button on a microwave. After college, I cooked because I needed to eat and feed people at my house, but it wasn’t something I really thought about beyond, “What should I make tonight?”

Something happened to me in the last few years that changed all of that apathy. Although I’m not sure I can pinpoint THE event that made me love my kitchen, I’m aware of a few things that happened. We started inviting people over to our house on Sunday nights for dinner and movies. I’ve always loved entertaining, but creating dinners for everyone, sometimes feeding 8-10 people and even a surprise extra few changed my attitude towards cooking. Since the number of people fluctuated, I had to expand what I made at a moment’s notice, forcing me to improvise, something I hadn’t been good at. I learned how to make dinners out of almost nothing, to make things like ranch dressing from scratch when I ran out of dressings, that pizza sauce could be made from tomatoes and basil if prepared the right way and most importantly to view it all as an adventure. With my newfound independence from the cookbook, the world of the culinary arts began to open up. I began to try new things and found out how much I liked making a dish without having to constantly scan a recipe. It was fun and I began to enjoy it.

By Christmastime of 2009, I was primed for the more significant event that turned me towards loving to cook. My mom gave me Julie Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking, the cookbook Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day and the movie Julie and Julia for me as a gift. We all watched the movie as a family and that night I sat poring over the cookbooks. I did not have the nerve to cook all the way through the books (the aspic section was too gross), but I started cooking from the book. And most importantly, I started LEARNING to cook. Every recipe is a lesson in some form of cooking and my knowledge increased, as did my food budget! But, I found that I loved it, plain and simple.

Many food writers go on and on about the chemistry of lots of ingredients becoming a cohesive whole and the satisfaction of seeing all the ingredients come together. I don’t really care about those things.

I love chopping things. When I’m really mad, it feels good to beat eggs or chop onions or stir my bread dough. When I’m tired, I like to watch onions turn slowly brown in hot oil and know how yummy that is going to make my foccacia bread. On most days, both good and bad, I find myself drifting towards the kitchen, often towards the end of the day. Soon the kitchen is covered in flour as I make bread, dessert or something as simple as pancakes. My brain goes somewhere happy while my hands are busy working and I leave the kitchen better for it. I don’t even mind it when things go horribly awry and I end up throwing out an entire recipe all the while giving a silent “I hear ya, sister” to Julie as she lay on her kitchen floor annoyed with yet another failed recipe. Even on my painful days, when my body aches, I’ll drag a high stool into the kitchen and sit curled up on it while I bake. I love opening the oven door and feeling the heat warm my face and arms as I reach in for a loaf of bread. I love how I feel when I am measuring, modifying, stirring, smelling and loving what I‘m doing. It’s just…good.

A new form of addiction has come out of cooking…the cooking supply store! We have several in Colorado Springs and I’ve managed to visit almost all of them. I hold off on going into a store until I really have the time to hang out for a while and absorb all the wonders inside. I find myself touching brioche pans and chocolate molds and double boilers with the same reverence a book collector would view a first edition collection of Shakespeare. I browse all the shelves wondering what someone could possibly need with a silver plated deviled egg platter, but mostly really wanting to take the entire store home with me! It would be so fun to have some of those cool gadgets and pans and cool new toys!

Now, after almost a year of really enjoying to cook, I’ve discovered other benefits. No matter how beautiful the rest of my house is, the kitchen is where all guests end up. I’ve had some amazing conversations while I stood at the stove. There is something very cathartic about the smell of bread or cookies and that often opens the floodgates of emotions. I’ve laughed, cried and hugged people who have been in desperate need of encouragement. And, I get to feed them good food after the emotions have calmed a little.

One of those important conversations happened recently with my friend Becky. She was watching me chop green peppers and I got talking about how much I loved what I was doing. In her unerring way of taking my two thousand words and boiling them down to one phrase, she said simply, “Cooking is how you say ‘I love you’”. In the bustle of making lunch for twenty people, it didn’t sink in until later when she grinned at me over her plate and said, “I love you too, Mary”.

So, next time you visit my house and I cook you a five course meal, don’t ask me what the occasion is. Just know that I’m saying, “I love you and I’m glad you’re here!”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Comfort Food

  1. Steve says:

    Cooking is one of the few pursuits I know that combines creativity and nurturing. I’m not surprised that you have come to love it so much.

    Two personal notes:

    1. You know who, among many others, claims credit for food=love as a part of their culture.
    2. As a small partial payment on the debt I owe you for your many years of assistance, I must draw your attention to the typo on line 4 where “know” should read “now”.

  2. Becky says:

    Well, I have to say I usually skip anybody’s cooking posts entirely or skim them impatiently, but you drew me in right from the start and I ate this one up. (Ha ha! Get it? “Ate” this one…? You cooked up a humdinger of a blog post! Ha ha!!……ahem.) I relate to the beginning of your cooking journey as I have begun to explore my own kitchen. I’m behind you on the path, but you’ve shown me there’s hope for me yet. Thank you.

  3. Allison Dailey says:

    Mary! Cooking is my “I Love You!” too! I can get so stressed out when we have to rush out of the house and I didn’t make breakfast for Bill – I feel like the day got off to a bad start.
    I love your comments about improvising! It is really amazing what you can throw together on a moments short notice. I’ve been amazed at how I can ignore the pile of dirty dishes after another long work day and cook up some impressive creation from a few cans, boxes, and raw ingredients!
    Thanks for this post! So fun, and inspirational! (I loved the Julie & Julia movie too and sooo wanted to get that cook book!)

  4. cheekypinky says:

    *nods*

    i miss sunday dinners at your house.

    know that i’m thinking about you when we have ours out here.

    xoxo

  5. Dyann says:

    I just read your whole blog. Welcome to the blogosphere. When I get a minute, I’ll link up as a follower.

    I love this post. (Not that your others are bad, mind you.) I’m not sure why, but this one specifically warmed my heart and pulled the corners of my mouth upward. I love that you learned to cook from scratch. I love that you did it without recipes and cookbooks. I love that you use cookbooks, too. I love that your friends gather in your kitchen, and that your kitchen is your haven. (Is there room for a recliner in there?) I love that creating masterpieces of comfort and warmth and yumminess brings you contentment and joy. And I super love that your concise, clear-sighted friend summarized the act so well and responded in a wonderful, loving way.

    And it would seem that I love to use the word ‘love.’

    Excellent blogging–I look forward to more.

    (PS–The giraffe is adorable, the loneliness broke my heart just a little as I know your gregariousness, CS looks amazing from those shots, kudos to you for being the best mom you can be–I’m constantly learning when to win and when to concede so I can win when I HAVE to, my own flute has been nagging me from the top shelf in my closet–it’s been over 12 years and I can’t even remember how to play a scale, I love that you & Jake bonk foreheads. How adorable! Just don’t do it after he scores a touchdown in high school. He’ll knock you out!)

Leave a Reply

