Jake’s Fingers-Evil Applesauce

Jake’s third appointment was today and among other things, we learned that applesauce can be EVIL!

The first half of our appointment was the same as the last two weeks-lots of playing, reinforcing the right way to sit and encouraging bending, leg straightening, and general strengthening sorts of activities.  The only new thing Becky told me is that we will be doing some physical therapy soon since Jake doesn’t bend at the waist from side to side.  Which makes him move like a little tin soldier and as funny as that can be, it will hold back his overall activity.    

The second half brought back a little of the velociraptor I mentioned in my last post.  Becky brought out the tray of food and we played with pretzel sticks and applesauce and Jake was pretty happy until she dumped the applesauce on the tray.  Suddenly, the applesauce became Evil Applesauce.  Jake looked at it and lay down on the floor and cried.  We got him calmed down, sat back up and Becky tried to feed him with a spoonful of applesauce from the tray and he melted back onto the floor.  He would eat food out of a bowl or jar, but REFUSED to eat the same food off the tray.  My little velociraptor screamed, cried, threw fits, and even hit Becky at one point, screaming “NO! NO! NO!” at the top of his lungs.  (Becky has always asked me not to intervene, but when he hit her, I let Jake know that hitting was never, ever okay.  We’ve had this discussion before.) 

So, guess what Mama gets to do this week?  You guessed it!  We are going to learn to be okay with messy trays.  Since a lot of Jake’s sensory issues deal with moist or wet food being on his hands, desensitizing him to evil applesauce on his tray may be quite a hurdle.  For me as well as Jake. 

I was really thrown at Jake’s overall behavior during the appointment, but Becky said it was not unusual for kids to throw monster fits at the appointment.  She got to see how I discipline him (low, firm tone of voice, eye contact, hug, kiss, and done) and she said I was doing it the right way.  Most parents, I guess, flip out and then their kids learn how to manipulate them.  I certainly feel like flipping out, but don’t.  Most of the time.  With his eating issues, there is a fine line between his bad behavior because he’s scared of his food and his bad behavior because he’s being a little turkey.  I know him well enough to scared from turkey and I think we’re walking that line well.

Our assignments for this week are the physical therapy with getting him to bend at the waist, continuing to strengthen his legs and encouraging him to walk.  As far as the eating goes, it’s more complicated.  Beef jerky is also a member of the Food Axis of Evil because of the weird texture (it is kinda weird, huh?) so we’re adding beef jerky sticks to his snacks.  Along with having his tray be messy and learning to eat off of it, we also have to make him stop giving his Cheerios to the dogs.  I’m so sad about that since it makes him laugh so hard.  However, Becky pointed out that Jake is controlling when he is done eating and when he is scared of a food, he’ll throw it on the floor.  When I thought about it like that, I realized that, yes, sadly, we need to be done with that.

I’m amazed at how much better Jake is doing, although most of the hurdles are still ahead of us.  He continues to be my sweet little boy.  He voluntarily sat on my lap and cuddled with me for a while today, giving me a kiss when he was ready to get down.  His laugh brightens my day and I’m so glad he’s mine!

 We’re thankful that you are along for our adventures in food and therapy.  I appreciate all of your comments and messages.  It means a lot to know you are there, supporting and praying for us.  If you were here, I’d bake you an apple pie.

This entry was posted in Jake's Fingers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jake’s Fingers-Evil Applesauce

  1. Janet Wagner says:

    I don’t envy your food assignment for the coming week, but would love the apple pie!
    I am so amazed that there are people who even know about Jake’s types of problems, let alone know how to help them. Praying for strength to see you through each day.

  2. Mom says:

    I feel really sad about him not being able to throw cheerios to Jack and Lucy. That has been so much fun for all of us!

    Is he scared of cheerios? Couldn’t he get excused from throwing just one food on the floor?

    You’re a good mama – I am sorry it is so complciated!

  3. Dottie says:

    I’m so glad to hear that so much progress is being made. I’m looking forward to seeing all of you again.

  4. ruth says:

    Wait apple Pie?! Oh right, once your over is fixed…lol

  5. Becky says:

    Holy cow. I can’t even imagine. You’re a rock star, Mary.

Leave a Reply

