Jake’s Fingers: Proud and Happy Mama

Every week we go to therapy, I come up with one more reason to love our occupational therapist, Becky.  I’ve had a lot of time to think about our doctor’s appointment last week (https://sistertwo.wordpress.com/2011/05/06/jakes-therapy-the-missing-link/ ), but no one who could help me process what he said.  We spent a lot of time between the bubbles and chicken sticks talking through the appointment.

Jake’s pediatrician talked to me about testing Jake for some really big things that none of us really think that he has.  However, if Jake even toes the line of some of those really big things, it could open the door for our insurance being willing to cover additional, and necessary, services.  Becky helped me understand what kind of testing they will do, when they typically do it, how long a diagnosis will follow him, and how much help we could get from a diagnosis.

She was very positive about our appointment and how the doctor evaluated Jake.  It seems like we made a good choice and I have hope that things will continue to get better.

She also gave me an application for private speech therapy that is subsidized through a foundation, which helps parents offset the exorbitant cost ($450 a session!!!) of therapy.  I’ll be filling that application out and turning it in by Friday to get in the pool of applicants eligible to begin therapy within the next month.  At this point, I’ll take any idea, consider any option, including, but not limited to Martians setting up a landing pad in my back yard to work with Jake.

Jake’s therapy appointment went really well today, which is hilarious since the last week has been chaotic.  A bunch of stuff got stolen out of my car and two days later Greg left for a week’s business trip to Florida.  Needless to say, that didn’t lend itself well to me sleeping well or being relaxed.  I did Jake’s therapy when I was able to, but I also got a series of migraines, which didn’t make me very productive.  So, I was prepared for a difficult appointment.  I should realize that my child will always catch me off guard.  Jake was a perfect angel today and put almost everything offered to him in his mouth.   He bit and chewed an apple, bit a piece of microwaved pepperoni and ate a white cheddar cheeto while looking at me with a “What?” look on his little face.  For all the hard work I’ve put in, it’s really nice to know that it doesn’t all go out the window if we have an off week.

This coming week our big thing is going to be family meal time.  I’m a little embarrassed to say that we haven’t been doing that, but since Jake still doesn’t feed himself, I always find it easier to feed him before we all eat.  Plus, dinner time is the first point in the day that Greg and I are able to talk.  I understand the point that Becky is making, which is, we need to model good eating habits for Jake.  So, he’ll still get his own dinner, but he’ll also get a plate of our food and sit with us when we are eating.  Hopefully, he’ll want to engage with us and munch on some of our food.

Last weekend, we went on a hike up in the mountains.  It was one of those gorgeous days we have in Colorado springtime and we were excited about getting outside.  Jake was super cranky about being in his pack, so I let him down to walk.  It was another of those “see how far we’ve come” moments.  Six months ago, Jake wouldn’t touch anything, interact with anything and wasn’t even mildly curious about rocks, grass, trees or the cement.  He had never fallen down on a walk or gotten dirty.  Nature walks tended to end with a very clean, indifferent little boy.  But, after six months of therapy, a clean Jake is no longer part of the equation. (Woohoo!)  Jake walked almost a mile and loved every minute of it.  He tried running and we were laughing at his straight-armed little run.  I was so proud that he even tried it and he was pretty excited that he could go fast all by himself. 

It took us almost an hour to complete our hike since every rock needed to be examined,

every ant needed to be talked to,

every tree needed investigating,

and every new thing needed to be considered.

.

It was a joy to watch him interact with his world in a way that I’ve rarely seen before. 

He even got his hands dirty,

and wiped the scary dirt off all by himself.

It was truly amazing to see with my own eyes how much more comfortable he is with his environment.  Days like this make all the work worth it and gives me such hope for the future.

I am one proud and happy mama!

This entry was posted in Jake's Fingers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jake’s Fingers: Proud and Happy Mama

  1. Dyann says:

    Oh, happy Happy HAPPY DANCE!!!! I love the notion of him becoming comfortable with the things that little boys are made to do! Get dirty, explore stuff, run around and love being outside. Love it!!!

    And I love the Martian idea. Would insurance cover it?

  2. Rebecca says:

    GAH!

    Stop making my biological clock go off!

    😀

  3. Janet W says:

    Jake gave you the perfect Mother’s Day gift!

  4. Mom says:

    loved the pictures you put up on Sunday and your essay made them even better! So glad for good progress!

  5. Laura Jane says:

    Just so you know: you have now written and published one of my favorite sentences of all time. “We spent a lot of time between the bubbles and chicken sticks talking through the appointment.” Out of context, this sentence is almost impossible to interperet. And if I imagine two businessmen having an appointment where they are discussing bubbles and chicken sticks, it’s even better.

    I love this whole thing. All of it. I love the pictures of you and your not so little boy. And I love progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

