Moving is…Oh, crap.

I shouldn’t make plans.

I shouldn’t make lists.

I shouldn’t make goals with dates next to them.

I should plan to get nothing done and watch movies all day because maybe, just maybe that plan will fail and I will actually get crap done.

A month ago, I sat down and outlined what I would need to do every week prior to our move.  The move that is happening in 14 sleeps.  I had a really great time planning it all out, being sure that I had enough time to rest and relax and go do fun things.

What I should have done was to schedule in 10 days to get a virus and then have other fun health things happen, because I’ve spent most of the last week and a half laying either in bed, on the couch, or on the floor, wishing there was enough cold medicine in the world to knock me out for about 12 hours at a time.

I was able to get a little bit of rest during that time, but still sorta needed to be on my feet getting the house ready for the 8 showings that happened while I was sick.  And, the five unexpected snow/water main break days at Jake’s school.  And, the taking care of everyone else in my family when they all got sick.  Did I mention the -14 degree weather?  That’s a negative in front of that number, in case you missed it.

I’m feeling a lot better now and thought I was doing alright until today.  I went to pick Jake up from school and the front door was locked.  The front door of the school is always supposed to be locked, but it never is.  Except for the last two days, for some reason.  Yesterday, I tried the doors, pushed the buzzer, and was let in.  Today, however, I tried the doors, pushed the buzzer, and nothing happened.  I peered in through the windows and my migraine to see that the office staff weren’t paying attention.  I pushed the button again.  Nothing.  I pushed it one more time and got someone’s attention only to be told cheerfully that the door was open.  Uh, no, it’s not.  Pushed the buzzer again.  Repeat of the conversation.  At which point, I just about yelled through the intercom, “PUSH THE  *&$@# BUTTON!”   What actually came out of my mouth was all of the above without the swear and they finally realized that no matter how many times they told me the door was unlocked, it really wasn’t.

Tonight, I was packing china and I had a moment where I thought, “I don’t need china.  Who even uses china?  Maybe I’ll just throw it all out.”  At which point, I realized that I should put down the china, back away from the tape gun and call it a night.

I don’t feel that stressed out, but usually that’s when it’s about to get bad.  So, I really did walk away from everything, took a bubble bath, poured myself some Sleepytime Tea, and started writing.  Which always helps me get things sorted out and have happy feels instead of angry feels.

I have a mountain of things to get done, but I’ve already done at least a mountain and a half of stuff.  I do have my lists.  I do have my plan.  Even though I may need to play a bit of catch up, I think this is all still going to happen.

I just don’t remember moving being this complicated four years ago.  Jake was ten months old and wasn’t in a preschool with an IEP, we were keeping both our cars, and maybe I was just blissfully ignorant of how much stuff was going to need to happen.  I think it is actually helping me that I DO remember it all because even though it’s a whole bunch of work right now, getting to Lodi and getting settled is probably going to be so much easier than it could be.

At least I hope it is.  If it isn’t, I might decide I’m Greek and start throwing my plates at the kitchen walls.  I like my plates.  I think I want to keep them.

With absolutely no point made other than I was stressed, I’m feeling better, and now I’m going to bed, goodnight.

If you hear crashing later tonight, you know that Sleepytime Tea is stupid.

This entry was posted in Moving is Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving is…Oh, crap.

  1. cheekypinky says:

    HA.

    I wish I could be there to help with the packing again–it’s always easier with help.

    …especially when the Cold from Hell strikes.

Leave a Reply

